DFA Sec. Locsin: Iceland Resolution ‘highly questionable’ » Manila Bulletin News

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

DFA Sec. Locsin: Iceland Resolution ‘highly questionable’


By Gabriela Baron

After the Iceland Resolution has been passed at the Human Rights Council, Department of Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin took aim at UN for ‘weaponizing’ its mandate for the sake of own interests.

Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr. (PRESIDENTIAL PHOTOS / MANILA BULLETIN)

Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr. (PRESIDENTIAL PHOTOS / MANILA BULLETIN)

“We helped create the UN to honor the universal values of respect for sovereignty and on-interference in the internal affairs of state which were brazenly and brutally violated on a global scale by those who censured us today.” the secretary wrote.

READ MORE: UNHCR adopts Iceland’s resolution by a slim margin of votes

Locsin called the validity of the resolution ‘highly questionable’.

“It does not represent the will of the Council, much less that of the developing countries who are always the target of such resolutions. Western countries pushed for this resolution in the confidence that the world has forgotten what they did and what should have been done to them had there been a Human Rights Council,” he added.

The secretary also wrote that the resolution is ‘not a triumph of human rights’ but rather a ‘travesty’. Claiming they incite false information from sources peddling their untruths for money.

Locsin insists that he rejects the resolution, saying they will not accept a ‘politically partisan’ and ‘one-sided’ resolution that is ‘detached’ from the truth.

Meanwhile, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Fiji, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Slovakia, Spain, Ukraine, UK, and Uruguay voted YES to Iceland resolution.

Those who voted NO are countries: Bahrain, Cameroon, China, Cuba, Egypt, Eritrea, Hungary, India, Iraq, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and Somalia.

The following countries abstained: Bangladesh, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Chile, Congo, Japan, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Togo, and Tunisia.

Related Posts