Mega Cebu calls for entries for best investigative reporting awards » Manila Bulletin News

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Mega Cebu calls for entries for best investigative reporting awards


By Minerva BC Newman

CEBU CITY – Mega Cebu through the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation, Inc. (RAFI) is calling all journalists in the country to join in the competition for the “Best Investigative Reports” awards in print, online/blogs, and radio and win cash prizes.

Mega Cebu (logo courtesy of MANILA BULLETIN

Mega Cebu (logo courtesy of MANILA BULLETIN

According to Caroline Ballesteros, Mega Cebu Communication and Stakeholder Relationship Manager, the award honors excellence in journalism presented in a single story or single-subject series that shows significant depth, insight and understanding of a story of pressing issue of Mega Cebu.

Ballesteros said investigative stories submitted for the competition must reflect the following Mega Cebu priority projects that include Metro Cebu Urban Transport Master Plan, Metro Cebu Flood Control and Drainage Master Plan, Metro Cebu Septage Treatment Plant Project or issues on traffic, flooding, septage, garbage and water supply.

Entries considered for the competition are those published from August 15 to September 29, 2018 and the closing date for receiving submissions is on September 30, 2018.

Entries must include a filled-up entry form that can be downloaded from the Mega Cebu website and can be emailed to the participant by request, with the following:

1. For print, PDFs of the page or pages of the original work, with scanned copies of the published story. If the same story has been published online, URL links of the story can be provided instead of the scanned copy of the story.
2. For blogs, URL links attached to the entry form.
3. For radio, links of the audio file attached to the entry form

Electronic submissions can be emailed to and copied to

According to Ballesteros stories are judged according to ethics and balance of fairness, depth, originality, timeliness and impact, sourcing and reporting rigor, technical proficiency and overall impact.

Ballesteros bared that cash prizes await the winners: For the print category grand prize is P15,000 for the reporter, P7,000 for the copy editor and a plaque for the newspaper. First runner-up will get P12,000 for the reporter, P5,000 for the copy editor while the 2nd runner-up gets P10,000 for the reporter, P3,000 for the copy editor. The newspaper will receive a plaque.

For the radio category, the grand prize is P15,000 for the reporter, P7,000 for the station manager while the first runner-up receives P12,000 for the reporter, P5,000 for the station manager and for the 2nd runner-up reporter gets P10,000 while the station manager gets P3,000 and a plaque for the radio station.

Prizes for the blogger are; P15,000 for the grand prize, P12,000 for the 1st runner-up and P10,000 for the 2nd runner-up.

Related Posts