Classes in public schools start June 4 –DepEd » Manila Bulletin News

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Classes in public schools start June 4 –DepEd


By Merlina Hernando-Malipot

The Department of Education (DepEd) officially announced yesterday that the opening of classes for School Year (SY) 2018-2019 in all public schools nationwide will be on June 4.



In line with its annual initiative to engage education partners and stakeholders in preparation for the opening of classes, DepEd is set to reactivate the National Oplan Balik Eskwela (OBE) for SY 2018-2019 from May 21 to June 8 at the Bulwagan ng Karunungan, DepEd-Central Office in Pasig City.

Education Secretary Leonor Briones said that the conduct of the OBE will “ensure that all our learners are properly enrolled and able to attend school on the first day of classes by addressing problems, queries, and other concerns commonly encountered by our stakeholders at the start of the school year.”

Under the OBE, the DepEd-Central Office (CO) shall set up the OBE Information and Action Center (IAC) at the Bulwagan ng Karunugan which shall serve as the information and complaints processing and routing zone for the duration of the project. Regional and division offices are likewise encouraged to set up a command center to receive and respond to concerns directly from the ground.

To ensure that all school opening concerns will be addressed, including those beyond the purview of the agency, DepEd will assemble the OBE Inter-Agency Task

Force (IATF). “We are also working closely with our partners to ensure the delivery of quality, accessible, relevant, and liberating basic education,” said Briones.

The OBE-IATF is composed of the Department of Energy (DOE); Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG); Department of Health (DOH);

Department of National Defense (DND), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH); Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD);

Department of Trade and Industry (DTI); Manila Electric Company (MERALCO); Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS); Metro Manila

Development Authority (MMDA); Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA); and Philippine National Police (PNP).

Related Posts