Duterte appoints new secretaries of DSWD, DICT » Manila Bulletin News

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Duterte appoints new secretaries of DSWD, DICT


By Genalyn Kabiling

President Duterte has appointed Virginia Orogo as acting Secretary of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) and Eliseo Rio Jr. as acting Secretary of the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT).

Virginia Orogo  (left); Eliseo Rio Jr.  (MANILA BULLETIN)

Virginia Orogo (left); Eliseo Rio Jr.

Orogo currently serves as DSWD Undersecretary for Special Concerns while Rio is the officer-in-charge of the DICT.

The appointment papers of the two officials were signed by the President last May 8 but were released to the public only Thursday.

Orogo takes the place of former Social Welfare Secretary Judy Taguiwalo, who lost her job after the Commission on Appointments (CA) rejected her appointment last August.

At the time, Malacañang expressed dismay with the CA rejection of Taguiwalo, saying she served the administration with passion, profession, and integrity. Undersecretary Emmanuel Leyco was designated OIC of the DSWD.

Rio replaces Rodolfo Salalima, who resigned last September due to personal and work-related reasons, at the helm of the DICT.

The President later revealed that he forced Salalima to resign due to complaints about his alleged preferential treatment for some telecommunication companies.

Malacañang, meantime, announced two other new government appointees.

The two members of the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority board of directors are Rolando Ampunin representing the national government and Benasing Macarambon Jr. representing the business and investment sectors.


Related Posts