528 families in 13 barangays in Caraga displaced by storm » Manila Bulletin News

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

528 families in 13 barangays in Caraga displaced by storm


By Francis Wakefield

The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) today said a total of 528 families or 1,829 persons in 13 barangays in CARAGA Region are affected by Tropical Storm “Basyang”.



NDRRMC executive director and concurrent Office of Civil Defense (OCD) administrator Undersecretary Ricardo Jalad, said the affected families are currently housed in 17 evacuation centers and are being taken care of by local disaster officials.

Jalad said that due to Basyang, a total of 2,704 passengers, 366 rolling cargoes, 62 vessels and three motorbancas are stranded in ports of Northern Mindanao, Eastern and Southern Visayas.

He said classes in Regions 6, 8, 10 and CARAGA were also suspended due to Basyang.

Jalad said the NDRRM Operations Center maintains its Red Alert status and is continuously monitoring and disseminating Severe Weather Bulletins, Weather Advisories, 24-hour Public Weather Forecasts, Gale Warning, and other advisories to all RDRRMCs/OCDROs through SMSs, facsimile, and official social media websites for further dissemination to their respective local Disaster Risk Reduction Management Councils.

As of 2 a.m. today, Basyang has maintained its west northwest direction as it threatens northeastern Mindanao.

By 9:15 a.m., Basyang made landfall over Cortez, Surigao del Sur.

Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 2 was raised over Surigao del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur and Dinagat Islands while TCWS No. 1 was raised over the southern portion of Samar, southern portion of Eastern Samar, Biliran, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Negros Occidental, Siquijor, Guimaras, Iloilo, Capiz, the southern portion of Antique, Camiguin, Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte, Misamis Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Bukidnon, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Norte and the northern portion of Zamboanga del Sur.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Posts