Duterte appoints Andanar, Briones as new members of UNESCO » Manila Bulletin News

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Duterte appoints Andanar, Briones as new members of UNESCO


By Genalyn Kabiling 

Two Cabinet members have been given additional government work by President Duterte to liaison with a United Nations (UN) body.

Andanar, Briones

PCOO Secretary Martin Andanar (L); DepEd Secretary Leonor Briones (MANILA BULLETIN)

The President has designated Education Secretary Leonor Briones and Presidential Communications Secretary Martin Andanar as new members of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) National Commission on the Philippines.

Briones and Andanar will represent the educational, scientific and cultural agencies of the government in UNESCO local commission for a term of three years. The national commission serves as the enabling government agency promoting UNESCO deals and programs in the country.

The appointment papers of Briones and Andanar, signed by the President last March 14, were released by the Palace on Tuesday (March 21).

Nine other senior government officials were also designated new members of the local UNESCO body.

They are National Commission for Culture and Arts chair  Virgilio Almario, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority director-general Guiling Mamondiong, Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) chair Renato Solidum Jr., Commission on Higher Education commissioner Prospero De Vera III, Information and Communications Technology undersecretary Denis Villorente, Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña, Social Welfare and Development undersecretary Florita Villar, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) deputy director general Rosemarie Edillon, and Department of Tourism director Verna Buensuceso.

“All of them were designated/given the additional task of being members to the UNESCO. They will continue to perform their functions as required by their primary appointments,” the Office of the Executive Secretary said.

Malacañang also announced other new appointments in government agencies including Guiller Asido as new administrator of the Intramuros Administration.

Also appointed were Rosario Gaetos, assistant secretary of Department of Trade and Industry; Mel John Verzosa, deputy administrator of National Tobacco Administration;  Roy Fiel, chair of Regional Development Council-Region VIII; Clark Delvo, director II of the Department of Finance; Ronnie Samonte, member of Cinema Evaluation Board; Teresa Pacudan, director III of the National Police Commission; Pinky Pabelic, director IV of the National Commission on Indigenous Peoples; Visa Dimerin, director II of the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources; Rosetta Palma, member of the Professional Regulatory Board for social workers; and Stella Banawis, member of Employees’ Compensation Commission board.

Beverly Milo, Elenita Quimosing and Teresita Dizon were all named directors II of the Bureau of Internal Revenue. Marilou del Rosario is new BIR director III.

The President also appointed Arturo Bautista, member of the Cagayan Economic Zone board;  Edwin Enrile, member of the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority board; Franz Weber, member of the Laguna Lake Development Authority board; Fritz Salazar, member of the Land of the Philippines-Leasing and Finance Corporation board; Michael Arañas, member of the Philippine Sugar Corporation board; Pio Benavidez, member of the National Power Corporation board; Pocholo Paragas, member of the Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority; and Ramon Macasaet, member of the United Coconut Planters Bank board;

Other appointees are Reynaldo Tansioco, member Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation board; Elba Cruz, member of the Development Academy of the Philippines; and Roque Quimpan and Conrado Capa, members of the Philippine Coconut Authority board; Rodolfo Puno, member of the Land the Philippines board.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts