PH bags 35 medals in Indonesia math, science Olympiad » Manila Bulletin News

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

PH bags 35 medals in Indonesia math, science Olympiad


By Jonathan M. Hicap

Young Filipino students won 35 medals in an international math and science contest held in Tangerang City, Indonesia.

Photo courtesy of Google Maps

Photo courtesy of Google Maps

They bagged 4 gold, 14 silver and 17 bronze medals in the 13th International Mathematics and Science Olympiad for Primary School 2016 (IMSO) held from November 9-13, said Dr. Isidro Aguilar, team leader and president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG).

Indonesian President Joko Widodo was the guest of honor during the opening ceremony.

Leading the Philippine team are gold medalists Filbert Ephraim Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy and Raphael Dylan Dalida of St. Mary’s Academy-Pasay in math, and Kian Colin Chua of St. Jude Catholic School and Chiara Bernadette Tan-Gatue of St. Jude Catholic School in science.

Bagging silver medals are Matthew Charles Carpio, Agoo Kiddie Special School; Enzo Rafael Chan, Bayanihan Institute; Ethan Cedric Jao, St. Jude Catholic School; Jeremie Keon Torralba, Ateneo de Manila Grade School; Walsh Nico Adrian Letran, St. Jude Catholic School; Alvann Walter Paredes Dy, St. Jude Catholic School; Cassidy Kyler Tan, Davao Christian High School; Sean Matthew Tan, Jubilee Christian Academy; Anika Bettina Bonifacio, Mother Goose Special School System; Kei Hang Derek Chan, St. Jude Catholic School; Noel Stephen Dequito, Xavier School-Nuvali; Justin Timothy Uygongco, Hua Siong College of Iloilo; Sigfred Kerwayne Kwan, Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; and Erin Christen Noceda, Special Education Center for the Gifted.

The bronze medalists are John Florence Dizon, Calamba Elementary School Special Science School; Martin Gabriel Lopez, First Asia Institute of Technology & Humanities; Bianca Marie Sacramento, SPED Center for the Gifted; Phoemela Ashley Mari Talabucon, UP Integrated School; James Martin Young, SPED-ISEC; Cris Lorraine Dela Cruz, Bolinao Integrated School; Armea Helena Sien Dimayacyac, Notre Dame of Greater Manila; Julian Patrick Noel Beltran, Butuan City Special Education Center; Denice Sophia Carles, Catbalogan I SPED Center; Jay Miguel Chua, St. John’s Institute; Evgeny Cruz, Palanan Elementary School-Makati City; Hannah Gabrielle Manansala, Colegio San Agustin-Makati; Daniella Sophia De Guzman, East Rembo Elementary School; Katrina Isabelle Dela Rama, Integrated Montessori Center; Patricia Grace Miras, De La Salle University-IS STC; Juan Anton Olpindo, Pasig Catholic College; and Mi Jung Pak, Colegio San Agustin-Biñan.

Others who accompanied the Filipino students were deputy team leader Dr. Eduardo Dela Cruz, Renard Eric Chua, Manuel Kotah, Lowela Mupas, Marie Jade Ong and Arvie Ubarro.

Participating countries and territories are Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Hong Kong, Kazakhstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mongolia, Netherlands, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Africa, South Korea, Thailand, Tajikistan, Taiwan, and Vietnam.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Posts